FAQ

General

Where can I purchase Marmot products?

Marmot products are available in specialist sport and outdoor shops and in our Marmot brand stores. To find an authorized dealer in your area, please use our Dealer Locator.


Can I view the Marmot collection online? 

You will find the complete Marmot collection on our website: „Products“


How can I keep up to date with the latest developments and products at Marmot?

Whether it’s new products, technologies and collections or the recent achievements of our Marmot PRO athletes, our newsletter keeps you informed about Marmot-related news. You can register for the newsletter here: Newsletter registration form. Our news is also available real-time on our social media channels: Facebook, Instagram, YouTube.


Where can I find out about the fabric technologies and membranes that Marmot uses?

Marmot provides detailed information on all the technologies and membranes it uses for its products on its website. A complete overview can be found at: http://www.marmot.de/content/en/technology.outerwear/.


How do I know how warm my Marmot sleeping bag is?

Almost all sleeping bags must be tested according to the requirements of the EN 13537 standard. This test indicates for which temperature range a sleeping bag is suitable. A distinction is made according to three different temperature ranges: the extreme, limit and comfort range. An overview of all Marmot sleeping bags can be found here: http://www.marmot.de/content/en/service.bag_chart/. Further information about the EN-Test is available here: http://www.marmot.de/content/en/service.en_testing/. 

How do I find out which size fits me best?

You will find a sizing chart and fit guide here: „Sizing Chart“.


How do I wash and care for my Marmot products correctly?

Most of our products come with wash and care instructions. To maintain the performance of your products and extend their lifespan, we advise you to follow the wash and care instructions. For more information, see „Product Care“.


Where are Marmot products manufactured?

Each Marmot product has a label, on which the respective country of manufacture is named.


Can I buy replacement parts for Marmot products?

For questions about replacement parts, please get in touch with your Marmot dealer or contact us direct: Contact Form


How do I find the product number of my Marmot product?

Regardless of the age of your product, there is an easy way to find the product number (and thus the product name): every Marmot product has a code sewn into it. For products from circa 1996, this consists of a letter followed by 4 to 5 digits (for example, D16540). For earlier products, a 4-digit number combination is used.


What is Marmot doing to ensure that its manufacturing processes are as environmentally friendly as possible?

Marmot is fully committed to sustainability and environmental protection. There are more and more products in the collection that are made from recycled polyester, organic cotton and other environmentally friendly materials. We are guided by the following premise: If we can achieve the same or better product performance using eco-friendly fabrics, we will use them. For more information on the sustainability of our company and our products, see: http://www.marmot.de/content/en/company.responsibility/. 

Warranty and Claims

What is the Marmot Lifetime Warranty?
Marmot guarantees the quality and lasting functionality of its products. Items with defects in materials or workmanship will be replaced or repaired, at the discretion of Marmot, for the entire realistic life of the product. Damage caused by external influences such as stone fall, sharp rocks, ski edges, sparks, fire etc. are not covered by our warranty.

What is covered by Marmot’s (lifetime) warranty and what is not?
Manufacturing and material faults are covered by the (lifetime) warranty. The term ‘materials’ includes fabrics, buckles / fasteners and zippers. The term ‘manufacturing’ includes seams, seam taping and the material’s coating or finish. Damage due to wear and tear (abrasion, UV radiation, rips and tears) and improper or negligent use is not covered by the warranty.

Of course, our products are designed for a long service life. Unfortunately, nothing lasts forever. The condition and composition of materials will deteriorate over time. Products can fade, moving parts will become worn. For warranty inquiries, signs of the aging process of your product – such as thinning and / or faded material, rips and tears and signs of abrasion, zippers that no longer function properly, frayed cuffs, etc. – will form part of our assessment. Generalized statements on the condition of your Marmot gear can’t be made, unfortunately. Wear and tear is highly dependent on the individual user and the way the product is used. A jacket worn by a mountain guide all year round will wear out much faster than a jacket worn by a weekend skier. Proper care will prolong the life of your gear significantly. We perform detailed checks on all products submitted and then decide on this basis whether the product is covered by the warranty or not.

How is a claim or repair order handled by Marmot?
To ensure that your claim or repair order is handled smoothly and efficiently, please return the product to the retailer from whom it was originally purchased. If this is not possible, please contact an authorized Marmot dealer in your area. Please note: retailers from whom the product was not purchased are not obliged to accept the product. Processing fees may be charged by the retailer. Please clarify this in advance.

When is an item repaired, and when it is replaced?
If your Marmot product has a manufacturing fault, where possible the item will be repaired free of charge under the terms of our warranty. If your item is not repairable or the cost of repair exceeds the value of the product, we reserve the right to replace the item at our discretion.

What can I do if my gear has defects caused by me?
Direct contact with sharp objects such as crampons, skis or snowboards can cause damage to clothing and gloves. Burn marks, rips and tears, worn areas and holes may also occur when using and carrying clothing and equipment. Damage of this kind is not covered by our warranty. In this case, please contact your dealer. Alternatively, we are happy to provide addresses of specialized outdoor gear repairers, with whom we have a very successful working relationship. You can get in touch about this via our Contact Form.

If I make modifications or changes to my gear does this invalidate the Marmot warranty?

We understand that customers will sometimes adapt their Marmot products to suit their individual needs. If faults occur that are not attributable to the respective changes or modifications, Marmot will honor its warranty in full, provided that the product has been used as intended. However, if the defects are due to the modifications or changes made the warranty will no longer apply.


How long will a repair under warranty take?

Depending on the workload required to process your repair order, it may take about 3 to 5 weeks after receipt by Marmot. Following receipt and examination, we will notify your dealer and inform him of our assessment.


How do I prepare my gear for return in the event of a claim or repair?

As an international company we are committed to the implementation of, and compliance with, health and safety regulations. Moreover, the protection of our employees is a top priority. We therefore ask you to clean all items thoroughly before returning them to us via your dealer. If an item needs to be cleaned before testing, we charge a fee of 15 €. You can find out more about the correct cleaning procedures for your gear under „Product Care“.


Who pays the shipping costs for a claim or repair order?

The costs incurred for shipment to Marmot are not borne by Marmot. Please clarify in advance with your dealer whether a shipping / handling fee is required. After processing the claim we will cover the cost of returning the item. Please note that the sender remains responsible for the product until we have acknowledged receipt. It is therefore advisable to use a shipping service with a tracking and tracing option.


What will the repair cost?

All repairs that are covered by our warranty will be carried out free of charge. For repairs that are not covered by the warranty, the cost of labor and material are the decisive factors for the expected total costs. After examination and assessment of the returned item, we will contact your dealer and inform them of all the repair options and the associated costs. We will not carry out any cost-incurring repairs without receiving your prior agreement via your dealer.


How can I contact Marmot with questions about a claim or repair order?

Use our "Warranty / Repair Form" or send us an email to "info@marmot.de".

Product Care

How should I clean my technical clothing?

To wash your Marmot technical clothing, use a residue-free soap or a surfactant-free detergent. We recommend the use of a special detergent, which can be bought at outdoor retail outlets.


Before washing, close the front zipper, the zippers on the pockets and the underarm zippers and all covering flaps and tapes and loosen the tension of all elasticated draw cords. Follow the care instructions that are sewn into the garment. Put the garment in the washing machine with a suitable detergent and wash the on a gentle cycle at max. 40 ° C. Please do not use washing powder, fabric softener or bleach.


After washing, take the garment out of the machine and shake it to remove excess water. If a dryer is available, dry the garment at a moderate temperature (max. 40 ° C) for about 40 minutes. This will reactivate the DWR (Durable Water Repellent) finish.


How often should I wash my technical clothing?

How frequently you should wash your clothing depends on how often and how intensively you use it. During intensive use, we recommend washing the clothing after max. 14 days of use. With normal / lighter use cleaning after 30 days of use is sufficient. As a general rule, if the garment is dirty, feels damp or clammy, fails to repel water or if water spots form on the surface, it is time to wash and dry it.

How can I reactivate or reapply the water repellent (DWR) coating on my technical clothing?

Wash the garment in accordance with the care instructions. Air-dry the garment or tumble dry it on a warm temperature setting. After the garment is dry, give it 20 minutes in the dryer at a low temperature on a delicates cycle to reactivate the DWR (Durable Water Repellent) finish. If you do not have a dryer, iron the dry garment at a low temperature (warm, no steam), placing a towel or cloth between the garment and the iron. The heat will reactivate the DWR finish. When the factory-applied coating can not be reactivated, you can treat the outer fabric of your garment with a DWR impregnation agent. This is available as a spray or wash-in formula. We recommend the spray version.


How do I clean and care for down clothing?

Washing down is very difficult, so we always recommend a specialized cleaning service in this case. From our own experience we can recommend the Outdoor Service team. For more information visit: www.outdoor-service.com.

FAQ

Allgemeines

Wo kann ich Marmot Produkte erwerben?

Marmot Produkte sind weltweit in Sport- und Outdoor-Fachgeschäften sowie in unseren Marken Stores erhältlich. Um einen autorisierten Fachhändler in Ihrer Nähe zu finden, nutzen Sie bitte unsere Händlersuche.


Kann ich die Marmot Kollektion online ansehen?

Sie finden die komplette Marmot Kollektion auf unserer Website: „Produkte“


Wie kann ich über die neusten Entwicklungen und Produkte bei Marmot auf dem Laufenden bleiben?

Egal ob neue Produkte, Technologien und Kollektionen oder die jüngsten Erfolge unserer Marmot PRO Athleten, unser Newsletter informiert regelmäßig über unternehmensbezogene News. Hier kann man sich für den Newsletter anmelden: Newsletter-Anmeldeformular. Unsere News gibt es nahezu in Echtzeit auch auf unseren Social Media Kanälen: Facebook, Instagram, YouTube.


Wo finde ich heraus, welche Technologien und Membranen Marmot verwendet?

Marmot stellt alle Technologien und Membranen, die es bei seinen Produkten verwendet, detailliert auf seiner Website vor. Eine komplette Übersicht gibt es unter http://www.marmot.de/content/de/technology.outerwear/.


Woher weiß ich, wie warm mein Marmot Schlafsack ist?

Nahezu alle Schlafsäcke müssen nach den Vorgaben des EN 13537 Tests geprüft werden. Dieser Test gibt an, für welchen Temperaturbereich ein Schlafsack geeignet ist. Unterschieden wird nach drei verschiedenen Temperaturbereichen: Extrembereich, Grenzbereich, Komfortbereich. Eine Übersicht über alle Marmot Schlafsäcke gibt es hier: http://www.marmot.de/content/de/service.bag_chart/. Weitere Informationen zum EN-Test gibt es hier: http://www.marmot.de/content/de/service.en_testing/. 



Wie finde ich heraus, welche Größe mir am besten passt?

Hier finden Sie eine Übersicht über unsere Größen: „Größentabellen“.


Wie wasche und pflege ich meine Marmot Produkte richtig?

Die meisten unserer Produkte werden mit einer Waschanleitung ausgeliefert. Um die Leistungsfähigkeit beizubehalten und die Lebensdauer zu verlängern, raten wir zur Einhaltung der Waschanleitung. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter „Produktpflege“.


Wo werden Marmot Produkte hergestellt?

In jedem Produkt von Marmot finden Sie ein Etikett, in dem das jeweilige Herstellungsland genannt ist.


Kann ich einzelne Teile eines Marmot Produkts nachkaufen?

Bei Fragen zu Ersatzteilen wenden Sie sich bitte an den Marmot Fachhändler Ihres Vertrauens oder melden Sie sich direkt bei uns: Kontaktformular


Wie finde ich die Artikelnummer meines Marmot Produkts?

Unabhängig vom Alter Ihres Produkts gibt es eine einfache Möglichkeit, dessen Artikelnummer (und damit auch dessen Namen) herauszufinden: In jedem Marmot Produkt ist ein Code eingenäht. Dieser besteht bei Artikeln ab ca. 1996 aus einem Buchstaben, gefolgt von 4 bis 5 Ziffern (z.B. D16540). Bei älteren Produkten handelt es sich um eine 4stellige Zahlenkombination. "So finden Sie die Artikelnummer"


Was unternimmt Marmot, um seine Produkte so umweltverträglich wie möglich herzustellen?

Marmot engagiert sich aus Überzeugung beim Thema Nachhaltigkeit und Umweltschutz. In der Kollektion finden sich mehr und mehr Produkte aus recyceltem Polyester, biologisch angebauter Baumwolle sowie weiteren umweltverträglichen Materialien. Dabei lassen wir uns von der Prämisse leiten: Wenn wir gleiche oder sogar bessere Produktperformance mit umweltfreundlichen Geweben erreichen können, verwenden wir diese. Weitere Informationen zur Nachhaltigkeit unseres Unternehmens und unserer Produkte finden Sie unter http://www.marmot.de/content/de/company.responsibility/. 

Garantie und Reklamation

Wie läuft eine Reklamation bei Marmot ab?

Für eine reibungslose und unkomplizierte Abwicklung Ihrer Reklamation bitten wir Sie, den Artikel bei dem Händler zurückzugeben, bei dem er ursprünglich erworben wurde. Falls Ihnen dies nicht möglich ist, wenden Sie sich bitte an einen autorisierten Marmot Händler in Ihrer Nähe. Bitte beachten Sie: Händler, bei denen der Artikel nicht erworben wurde, sind nicht dazu verpflichtet, das Produkt anzunehmen. Es können Bearbeitungsgebühren von Seiten des Händlers erhoben werden. Bitte klären Sie dies bereits im Vorfeld.

Reklamationsablauf


Was besagt die lebenslange Garantieerklärung von Marmot?

Marmot bürgt für die Qualität und anhaltende Funktionsfähigkeit seiner Produkte. Artikel mit Mängeln bei Material oder Verarbeitung werden für die gesamte realistische Lebensdauer des Produkts nach Ermessen von Marmot ersetzt oder repariert. Beschädigungen durch Fremdeinwirkungen wie Steinschlag, Felsen, Skikanten, Glutspritzer, Feuer usw. fallen nicht unter unsere Garantie. 


Was deckt Marmots (lebenslange) Garantie ab und was nicht?

Verarbeitungs- und Materialfehler sind über die (lebenslange) Garantie abgedeckt. Unter Material fallen: Stoffe, Schnallen/Schließen und Reißverschlüsse. Mit dem Begriff Verarbeitung sind Nähte, Vertapeungen und die Ausführung gemeint. Schäden durch Verschleiß (Abrieb, UV-Strahlung, Risse) sowie unsachgemäßen oder fahrlässigen Gebrauch werden nicht von der Garantie abgedeckt. 


Selbstverständlich sind unsere Produkte auf eine langfristige Nutzungsdauer ausgelegt. Leider hält nichts ewig. Zustand und Beschaffenheit von Stoffen werden sich im Laufe der Zeit verschlechtern. Produkte können ausbleichen, bewegliche Teile werden verschleißen. Bei Garantieanfragen werden wir Spuren des Alterungsprozesses Ihres Produkts – wie z.B. ausgedünntes und/oder verblasstes Material, Risse und Verschleißspuren, nicht mehr ordentlich funktionierende Reißverschlüsse, ausfransende Bündchen etc. – in die Beurteilung einfließen lassen. Pauschale Aussagen zum Zustand Ihrer Marmot Ausrüstung können wir leider nicht treffen. Der Verschleiß ist stark vom jeweiligen Nutzer und dessen Gebrauch abhängig. Die Jacke eines Bergführers, der sie ganzjährig nutzt, wird deutlich schneller abgenutzt als die eines Wochenendskifahrers. Richtige Pflege wird die Lebensdauer Ihrer Ausrüstung deutlich verlängern. Daher prüfen wir jeden eingesandten Artikel eingehend und entscheiden dann auf dieser Grundlage, ob ein Produkt unter die Garantie fällt oder nicht.


Was kann ich tun, wenn meine Ausrüstung selbst verschuldete Mängel aufweist?

Direkter Kontakt mit scharfen Gegenständen wie Steigeisen, Skiern oder Snowboards kann zu Schäden an Kleidung und Handschuhen führen. Auch Brandstellen, Risse, Verschleißstellen und Löcher können beim Gebrauch und Tragen der Ausrüstung auftreten. Diese Beschädigungen fallen jedoch nicht unter unsere Garantie. Bitte wenden Sie sich in diesem Fall an Ihren Fachhändler. Alternativ nennen wir Ihnen gerne einige Adressen von auf Outdoorware spezialisierten Schneidereien, mit denen wir sehr erfolgreich zusammen arbeiten. Kontaktieren Sie uns diesbezüglich einfach über unser Kontaktformular.



Wann wird ein Artikel repariert, wann wird er ersetzt?

Weist Ihr Marmot Produkt einen Verarbeitungsfehler auf, wird der Artikel – sofern dies möglich ist – im Rahmen unserer Garantie kostenlos repariert. Falls Ihr Artikel nicht reparabel ist oder die Kosten der Instandsetzung den Wert des Produkts übersteigen, behalten wir uns vor, den Artikel nach eigenem Ermessen zu ersetzen.


Erlischt bei eigenen Anpassungen oder Änderungen an meiner Ausrüstung der Marmot Garantieschutz?

Wir können nachvollziehen, dass Kunden gelegentlich ihre Marmot-Produkte an ihre individuellen Bedürfnisse anpassen lassen. Bei auftretenden Mängeln, die nicht auf die jeweiligen Änderungen zurückzuführen sind, steht Marmot voll und ganz zu seiner Garantie, sofern die Ausrüstung bestimmungsgemäß verwendet wurde. Treten die Mängel jedoch aufgrund der Anpassungen auf, gewähren wir keine Garantie.


Wie lange wird eine Reparatur im Garantiefall dauern?

Je nach Arbeitsaufkommen kann die Bearbeitung Ihrer Reklamation ab Eingang bei Marmot ca. 3 bis 5 Wochen dauern. Nach Erhalt und Untersuchung werden wir Ihrem Fachhändler eine Beurteilung mitteilen.


Wie bereite ich meinen Artikel im Reklamationsfall für die Retoure vor?

Als international agierendes Unternehmen sind wir zur Umsetzung und Einhaltung der Gesundheits- und Sicherheitsbestimmungen verpflichtet. Darüber hinaus hat der Schutz unserer Mitarbeiter höchste Priorität. Deswegen bitten wir Sie, alle Artikel vor der Einsendung durch Ihren Fachhändler zu uns gründlich zu reinigen. Falls ein Artikel vor der Prüfung noch gereinigt werden muss, erheben wir eine Gebühr von 15€. Zur richtigen Reinigung Ihrer Ausrüstung erfahren Sie mehr unter „Produktpflege“.


Wer trägt die Versandkosten einer Reklamation?

Die Kosten, die durch den Versand an Marmot entstehen, werden nicht von Marmot getragen. Bitte klären Sie vorab mit Ihrem Fachhändler, ob für Sie eine Versand-/Bearbeitungsgebühr anfällt. Wir kümmern uns nach der Bearbeitung der Reklamation um die Rücksendung und übernehmen die damit verbundenen Gebühren. Bitte beachten Sie, dass der Einsender bis zur Empfangsbestätigung durch uns für das eingeschickt Produkt verantwortlich bleibt. Es empfiehlt sich daher die Nutzung eines Versanddienstes, der eine Sendungsverfolgung ermöglicht.


Welche Kosten fallen für eine Reparatur an?

Alle Reparaturen, die durch die Garantie abgedeckt sind, werden kostenfrei ausgeführt. Bei Reparaturen außerhalb des Garantieschutzes sind die Kosten für Arbeits- und Materialaufwand die ausschlaggebenden Faktoren für die zu erwartenden Gesamtkosten. Nach Prüfung und Beurteilung des eingeschickten Artikels nehmen wir mit Ihrem Händler Kontakt auf und unterbreiten diesem alle Reparaturoptionen mit die damit verbundenen Kosten. Ohne eine Zustimmung durch Ihren Händler werden wir keinerlei kostenpflichtige Reparaturen vornehmen.


Wie kann ich Marmot bei Fragen zu einer Reklamation erreichen?

Nutzen Sie unser „Kontaktformular“.

Produktpflege

Wie sollte ich meine Funktionskleidung reinigen?

Zum Waschen Ihrer Marmot Funktionskleidung verwenden Sie bitte eine rückstandsfrei auswaschbare Seife oder ein tensidfreies Waschmittel. Wir empfehlen Ihnen die Nutzung eines Spezialwaschmittels, welches Sie im Outdoor-Fachhandel erwerben können. 


Schließen Sie vor dem Waschen den Frontreißverschuss, alle Reißverschlüsse an den Taschen und im Achselbereich sowie alle Abdeckleisten und Bänder und lösen Sie die Spannung aller elastischen Kordelzüge. Befolgen Sie die im Artikel eingenähten Pflegehinweise. Befüllen Sie die Waschmaschine mit einem passenden Waschmittel und waschen Sie das Kleidungsstück im Schonwaschgang bei max. 40°C. Verwenden Sie bitte keine Pulverwaschmittel, Weichspüler oder Chlorbleiche.


Nach dem Waschvorgang entnehmen Sie das Kleidungsstück der Maschine und schütteln es aus, um überschüssiges Wasser zu entfernen. Falls ein Wäschetrockner vorhanden ist, trocknen Sie Ihr Kleidungsstück bei mittlerer Temperatur (max. 40°C) für ca. 40 Minuten. Dadurch wird die wasserabweisende Ausrüstung (Durable Water Repellent, kurz DWR) reaktiviert.


Wie häufig muss ich meine Funktionskleidung waschen?

Die Häufigkeit, mit der Sie Ihre Kleidung waschen sollten, hängt davon ab, wie oft und intensiv Sie Ihre Ausrüstung nutzen. Bei intensiver Beanspruchung empfehlen wir, die Kleidung nach max. 14 Tagen Gebrauch zu waschen. Bei normaler/leichterer Nutzung genügt eine Reinigung nach 30 Tagen Benutzung. Generell gilt: Ist Ihre Kleidung schmutzig, fühlt sich feucht oder klamm an, bilden sich Wasserflecken oder wird das Wasser nicht mehr abgehalten, ist es Zeit, die Kleidung zu waschen und zu trocknen.

Wie kann ich meine Funktionskleidung mit einer wasserabweisenden (DWR-)Ausrüstung imprägnieren?

Waschen Sie das Bekleidungsstück wie in der Pflegeanleitung beschrieben. Lassen Sie das Bekleidungsstück an der Luft oder bei warmer Temperatur im Wäschetrockner trocknen. Nachdem das Bekleidungsstück trocken ist, geben Sie es für 20 Minuten bei niedriger Temperatur im Schongang in den Wäschetrockner, um die dauerhaft wasserabweisende Imprägnierung (Durable Water Repellent, kurz DWR) des Oberstoffes zu reaktivieren. Wenn Sie keinen Wäschetrockner haben, bügeln Sie das trockene Bekleidungsstück bei niedriger Temperatur (warm, ohne Dampf) und legen Sie dabei ein Handtuch oder anderes Tuch zwischen Kleidungsstück und Bügeleisen. Wärme reaktiviert die dauerhaft wasserabweisende Imprägnierung (Durable Water Repellent, kurz DWR) des Oberstoffes. Sobald die werksseitig aufgebrachte Imprägnierung nicht mehr reaktiviert werden kann, behandeln Sie den Oberstoff Ihres Bekleidungsstückes mit einer DWR-Imprägnierung nach. Diese ist als Pumpspray- oder Einwasch-Imprägnierung erhältlich. Wir empfehlen die Pumpspray-Variante.


Wie reinige und pflege ich Daunenkleidung?

Die Daunenwäsche gestaltet sich sehr schwierig, deshalb empfehlen wir in diesem Fall immer einen speziellen Reinigungsservice. Aus eigener Erfahrung können wir das Outdoor-Service Team empfehlen. Nähere Infos gibt es unter www.outdoor-service.com.